Being cited for reckless driving in the State of New York is quite a bit more serious than simply getting stopped for exceeding the speed limit or failure to stop at a stop sign. The costs associated with a reckless driving ticket are steep, and having reckless driving on your record could cause you to have your license suspended as well. Not only is reckless driving considered a serious traffic violation, it also constitutes a criminal charge.
VTL § 1212 defines reckless driving below:
“Reckless driving shall mean driving or using any motor vehicle, motorcycle or any other vehicle propelled by any power other than muscular power or any appliance or accessory thereof in a manner which unreasonably interferes with the free and proper use of the public highway, or unreasonably endangers users of the public highway. Reckless driving is prohibited. Every person violating this provision shall be guilty of a misdemeanor.”
For a first reckless driving offense, you could be charged a $100 – $300 fine, not including the moving violation fee and other court costs in addition to being sentenced to up to 30 days in jail and have five or more points on your driving record. If you are being charged with a second or third reckless driving offense, you could be sentenced to up to 180 days in jail, as well as incur additional fines.
You simply cannot afford to plead guilty to a reckless driving charge. At a time like this, it is in your best interest to consult with an experienced New York traffic attorney who can work with you to get the ticket and associated criminal charges dismissed. At the Law Office Of Terri B. Kalker, we will work hard to keep your driving record – and your criminal record – spotless.
Call us today for a consultation.
Note: Recent changes to the New York State Vehicle & Traffic Law makes it mandatory for motorists who are found guilty of certain traffic violations to pay an assessment to the Department of Motor Vehicles. This is called the Driver Responsibility Program and it applies to drivers who operate any kind of motor vehicle in New York State. This applies to New York drivers, regardless of the state the driver is actually licensed in.