It is illegal in the State of New York to use a cell phone while driving in any capacity, with the exception of dialing 911 or other emergency services. This includes simply talking on a cell phone while driving, as well as texting while driving or sending an email.
The penalties for cell phone use tickets are steep and result in not only a $50-$150 fine, but also you will incur five points against your driver’s license. If you have an probationary driver’s licence, a DJ, MJ or license or a learner’s permit, your license will be suspended for a period of 60 days. If you have a CDL license or are operating a professional vehicle, the penalties for cell phone use tickets are even higher.
Simply put, pleading guilty to a cell phone use ticket will have a significant impact on your insurance premiums and your driving privileges. While many people assume that there’s little more they can do than just pay the fees and move on with their lives, when you have a New York traffic attorney at your side, you can do much more to fight the ticket.
At the Ticket Defenders & Law Office Of Terri B. Kalker, we have experience working with clients who have been issued cell phone tickets, and we understand the laws surrounding cell phone use and driving. We will investigate your case and develop a strategy unique to your situation. We will help you fight any cell phone use ticket, because our priority is to help you keep your license and your driving record intact.
Call us today to schedule a consultation.
Note: Recent changes to the New York State Vehicle & Traffic Law makes it mandatory for motorists who are found guilty of certain traffic violations to pay an assessment to the Department of Motor Vehicles. This is called the Driver Responsibility Program and it applies to drivers who operate any kind of motor vehicle in New York State. This applies to New York drivers, regardless of the state the driver is actually licensed in.